translation problems with Filmmaker pro child theme

Home Forums All Other Themes translation problems with Filmmaker pro child theme

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Julien BedereJulien Bedere
    Participant
    • Topics: 3
    • Replies: 12
    • Total: 15

Hello,

I am a beginner. My website adress is: https://mizarufilms.com

I purchased recently the Filmmaker pro theme. It was setup properly by Shri from SKT, and seems to work just fine.
    I want to translate my whole website into french.

I generated a child theme for customised settings and translation. I was strongly advised to do so. So I won’t loose any of my settings if I have to update the parent theme. Especially my hand made translation.

I found a procedure to translate the child theme. I used Poedit to open the .pot file from the parent theme. I translated it into french and saved it into fr_FR.po and fr_FR.mo files.
    I created a folder called “languages” into my child theme folder, and put my fr_FR.po and fr_FR.mo files in it.

Then I edited the function.php file of my child theme folder. I added those lines, as recommanded into my procedure:

function my_child_theme_setup() {
    load_child_theme_textdomain( ‘complete’, get_stylesheet_directory() . ‘/languages’ );
    }
    add_action( ‘after_setup_theme’, ‘my_child_theme_setup’ );

‘complete’ is the “text domain’ name I found in the function.php file of the parent theme:
    //Make theme available for translation
    load_theme_textdomain(‘complete’, get_template_directory() . ‘/languages/’);

According to the procedure I followed it should work fine and my website should be translated. But it’s not. When I checked forums about this issue, some people were saying that something into the parent theme can block those child theme instructions.

Did I did anything wrong? Or is there indeed something into the Filmmaker theme that prevents the child theme translation to be activated?

Thanks for helping me,